Breadcrumb

Success Stories

Sentinel-1B’s first image

Back to article

Austfonna glacier


Title: Sentinel-1B's first image

Copyright: Contains modified Copernicus Sentinel data [2016], processed by ESA

Description:

Sentinel-1B's first data strip stretches 600 km from 80°N degrees through the Barents Sea. The image, which shows the Norwegian Svalbard archipelago on the left, was captured on 28 April 2016 at 05:37 GMT (07:37 CEST) – in less than three days after lift-off. Sentinel-1B lifted off on a Soyuz rocket from Europe's Spaceport in French Guiana on 25 April at 21:02 GMT (23:02 CEST). It joins its twin, Sentinel-1A, to provide more ‘radar vision' for Europe's environmental Copernicus programme.

Back to article

Initial Floating Portlet

See messages from the community

Sentiboard is an open digital platform facilitating sharing of information related to the users and usage of Copernicus Sentinel data
Go to sentiboard